top of page


The voice of Democrats in Newport News

The Newport News Democratic City Committee (NNDCC) is committed to fostering the long-standing Democratic principles of inclusion, grassroots organizing, fiscal responsibility, excellence in education, investing in our infrastructure, and helping to elect Democratic candidates at the local, state and national level to ensure the continued success of this nation. In doing so, the NNDCC never loses sight that preserving an adequate social safety network, so the most vulnerable among us have access to affordable health care and equal access to economic opportunities, is paramount to the sustenance of our great nation.

Committee Officers

Co-chairs: Dr. Karen Sturtevant & Philip Whitman

Vice Chair: Maritsa Alger

Secretary: Lawren Stewart

Treasurer: Mary Vause

Parliamentarian: Vacant

Sergeant-at-Arms: Nneka Bartlett



PO Box 2638

Newport News, VA 23609


bottom of page